What is the difference between R and R-Studio?

• Hi,

I wanted to know what is the difference between R and R-Studio? are they two different software?

I noticed that in many forums sometimes they talk about R and sometimes they mention R-Studio.

sorry if my question is very basic. I am new to R and I want to start learning.

• Best Answer

Hi,

No worries, all questions are welcomed. Everyone starts from somewhere and it is never late ;)

Back to your question:

R and RStudio are two distinct entities that serve different purposes in the world of data analysis and statistical computing.

R:

R is a programming language specifically designed for statistical computing and graphics. It provides a vast collection of statistical techniques, data manipulation capabilities, and data visualization tools. R is an open-source language, which means it is freely available to the community, and users can contribute their own packages and extensions to enhance its functionality. R can be used in various ways, including through command-line interfaces, script files, or integrated development environments (IDEs) like RStudio.

RStudio:

RStudio, on the other hand, is an integrated development environment (IDE) for the R programming language. It is not a programming language itself, but rather a software application that provides a user-friendly interface and a range of features to enhance the R programming experience. RStudio simplifies the process of writing, testing, and executing R code by offering tools such as a code editor, console, environment viewer, data viewer, and plot viewer. It also includes features for project management, package management, documentation, and collaboration, all aimed at facilitating the data analysis workflow.